Fuse is one of eight leading academic centres with excellence in applied public health research which make up the NIHR School for Public Health Research (NIHR SPHR).

The School brings together its members’ expertise in a collaborative working relationship – to ensure emphasis on what works practically, can be applied across the whole country and better meets the needs of policy makers, practitioners and the public. SPHR is in its second phase of funding, following an open competition, the membership of the School from 1 April 2017 to 30 March 2022.

Fuse involvement in the School is led by Professor Ashley Adamson, Professor Clare Bambra, Professor Eileen Kaner, Professor Carolyn Summerbell and Professor Falko Sniehotta.

Research capacity development

Capacity building

Collaboration & strategic partnerships


Impact on public health practice & policy


Public involvement & engagement